reflectiveteacher2014

reflectively assessing my professional goals

Connected Curation needs to be short term

Response to : Hoarding, curating and sharing
Filed under: Uncategorized — by bettyannx @ 9:28 AM

http://etmoocbythelake.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/hoarding-curating-and-sharing/

20130122-221510.jpg
I’ve come to believe in a few principles with regards to sharing and curation. Not that different than the old bankers box really- if it hasn’t been opened, edited, or given away recently, chuck it out. When I moved from elementary school to high school last century, I realized I had files and boxes that were just storehouses of memories and no longer useful.

20130122-221444.jpg

I would never use the worksheets, or notes or carbon copies or even student samples because the kids change, my course or grade work changed, my style changed, the technology changed or I just was no longer inspired by it. I saved because I had invested hours hours of prep in the curated paper. I wasn’t archiving scrapbooks of goodies for my children and grandchildren. What was I doing? The shift into high school assignment gave me an obvious exit point to pitch out my bankers boxes. I literally went to school with only a briefcase and it felt wonderful.

Now we have our folders of Dropboxes or Skydrives to wade through. The same best practice dilemma exists. What am I doing? I have colleagues in my city @math_johnson and @okmbio who #flipclass. I would presume some video and support docs last for short term but I suspect they need to rebuild screencasts, content continuously- and would wish to. Some other teachers I know capture their notes and lectures live in OneNote and include student feedback and annotations. Those docs are unique to that section.

As a librarian, I’m always cognizant of archiving content for that future reference moment but even in the Library, I’m revisiting the process. What is current? What content will have historical legs and can I (students/teachers) easily get it elsewhere without archiving myself? There are times when the hoarder in me is thrilled. I recently rediscovered an old book from 1957 that we NEVER threw out. http://kssreads.wordpress.com/2012/11/30/a-real-gem-found-canada-reads/.
We collect old relics of books and media. Items get catalogued, shelved and displayed. – Curated for nostalgic reasons mostly. The book itself was donated by Jon Day, Benvoulin to Kelowna High School Library 1962 a 2nd copy. 1st Edition hard cover with original dust jacket. It is now a title in the CanadaReads challenge on CBC. The original owners grand-daughter now goes to the school. We are going to go visit and share his book. THAT IS CONNECTIVISM in my mind!

I believe that we need to curate more than ‘stuff’. We need to curate relationships, stories and a sense of meaning and connectedness through history. I believe that is how humans learn. If filing a document in GoogleDocs or uploading a photo to Flickr triggers the ability to retelling of a story, then the file needs to tagged, named and uploaded. My own workflow has moved from hard drive file management to LAN file sharing to cloud computing. I want to manage content wherever I am and also deliver it to my patrons and colleagues on demand. Despite our amazing tools, I’ve run into institutional technology obstacles. Our unfinished portal doesn’t work. Our wifi is faulty. Skill sets vary widely. LMS unreliable. ..etc. Too often, people still rely heavily on email flow and redundancy and collaboration is stymied or messy. That said, there still is very exciting exchanges and projects developing.

Im not sure of the best workflow or the best tools but somehow the content that connects our stories needs to be curated with the precision of a librarian or the care of an old shaman!

Unfortunately,my response doesn’t go very far to answering your question- “How can I streamline and simplify access to great stuff for the very dedicated and hardworking teachers I’ve worked with?”

20130122-222014.jpg
Teachers, unlike, scientists or librarians, need not concern themselves with archiving content but engage in it while they can.

Comments are closed.