reflectiveteacher2014

reflectively assessing my professional goals

Currently reading Columbine- #sd23ed prof YA book club

Al has a book recommendation just for you.
Check out Columbine on Goodreads.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5632446

So far, I have serious mixed feelings and responses to this reading. I cannot help but get the assault of school violence and media tsunamis staining my attempt to read this text with an objective mind. As a teacher, the content adds another layer of emotion I am sure has a major filter. Lastly, it’s Christmas break and this title, as part of a professional book club, has me more than bemused and aloof. The anti-bullying lobby had hijacked this disturbing trend i fear and muddied the psycho-social waters. The elephant in the the room still remains- why do young psychopaths, choose schools rather than post offices or trade centres to kill?

Sent from my iCloud Al Smith
literateowl

Comments are closed.