reflectiveteacher2014

reflectively assessing my professional goals

Finding Balance – reblog dkerr

http://connectedprincipals.com/archives/6696
Finding Balance
November 19, 2012
By dkerr

So last week during a conversation with a respected mentor of mine, the topic of balance came up………. and it got me thinking. To be honest, I have personally struggled with this for a few years now, and it’s something that I’m just now starting to figure out. Balancing work, family, and all the other aspects of an educator’s life is one of the most difficult challenges that we all face, and I’d like to share a quick story with you (which I’ve embellished a little for effect) to try and help illustrate my point. I shared this as a “pearl” at a PTC course in Miami last summer, and I think it might be pertinent for our environment since we’ve all been working so hard of late.

At the beginning of last year, my first grade son received an assignment from his teacher. Essentially, he had to take home a sheet of A3 paper and a box of crayons, and draw how he saw his father. He was to include all of my hobbies, my passions, what I did with my spare time, and all the rest…..and when I heard of this assignment I was super excited. The first thing that I thought was, “how could he possibly put everything that encapsulated me on to one small sheet of A3 paper?” but regardless, I was looking forward to the end result. It was an assignment that was to be done in class, so everyday for a week I rushed home to see if the finished product was in his school bag. Finally, after five agonizing days of waiting, I arrived home to see him holding the finished masterpiece in his little hands. I told him to sit down on the couch and wait for me while I poured a big drink (since I knew it would take a long time to go through all the amazing things that he had drawn), and then we’d go through the assignment together. Well, we sat down, he handed me the paper, and I opened it up with frenzied anticipation. There on the paper, much to my shock and surprise, was a simple black stick man holding a yellow computer………and I nearly collapsed to the floor. (Connected Principals)

Comments are closed.